Other places of interest in Algaida
Camí de Son Miquel Joan
Open all year
Punxuat is an estate in the district of Algaida. Originally it was limited to the north by the Serra de Galdent mountain range; to the south, by the lands of the Galdent estate in the Llucmajor district; to the east by other estates and to the west by Son Canals. The origin of the name is unknown and it was mentioned in the Llibre del Repartiment of Majorca as a donation by the king to his knights. During the 16th and 17th centuries, the estate belonged to the Santacília family and was one of the most important in the Algaida district.
There are various theories that at one time at Punxuat there was a friary of knights of the Order of Sant Jordi d’Alfama, established in Majorca just before 1300. Until 1927, the remains of a large building still stood, attached to the chapel, which supposedly formed part of the friary. The complex was protected by a defence tower, built between the 13th and 14th centuries. The lower portal, from where the tower could be accessed, is in the Gothic style and the upper terrace can be accessed by a unique spiral staircase. It appears that the current chapel of Punxuat was used, after the cult had disappeared, as a cellar and more recently to store hay. It was restored in the 1980s. Punxuat also has a very large aljub (a cistern), dug into the rock, with a capacity for 400 tonnes of water and a domed roof.